First days in Taizé

I had no idea what to expect. All I knew was that I would spend the upcoming 5 weeks with Marie and Sarina – whom I had never met before – as a Small Provisional Community (SPC) in Novosibirsk. 

Will I like the girls? Will we get along? What will Novosibirsk be like? What will our workplace be like? How will we manage the daily Taizé prayers? Will local people join us? How will they perceive our small community?

But instead of doubting and questioning too much I decided to just trust and let it happen…

When I arrived in Taizé Marie already expected me at the bus station. “Rabea?” she asked? We sat down to chat a bit and get to know each other. What a nice and warm welcome. Later that day I also ran into Sarina. I was relieved and all my fears that we would not get along were gone.

During our preparation time in Taizé we met several times. We shared our expectations and fears about the SPC. Got some informations about Russia and Novosibirsk as well as some materials like songbooks, prayers and a beautiful icon from Brother Matthew and Brother Maciej.

After 5 intense days of preparation in Taizé we were ready to face our daily routines as a community as well as upcoming challenges. Novosibirsk – here we come…

2 Comments

  1. It’s with great joy we discover this blog! Wow, we will be able to follow you a bit in your discoveries and experiences! Thanks in advance!

    Like

  2. Oh, this is so wonderful! 🙂 So as the picture! I remember that day so well!
    Nice to see you and also nice to read you!

    Like

Leave a comment